Australia is labelled a ‘Covid DANGER ZONE’ by the EU with new travel restrictions banning the unvaccinated from a European holiday – after the nation suffered its deadliest day of the pandemic

  • Australia, Canada, Argentina, and Chile are all now considered ‘Covid Danger Zones. 
  • European council recommended that the restrictions placed on the country were not lifted.
  • This means that unless vaxxed, EU countries won’t allow more Aussies to travel with them on holidays.
  • It comes just after Australia’s remarkable run during the pandemic. 

Australia was deemed to be a Covid danger zone by the European Council and has been removed from a list of countries that are allowed to travel freely to Europe. 

In the wake of rising Covid deaths and cases, travel rules regarding un-jabbed arrivals have been tightened.

European Council of the European Union declared that the three countries will be removed from the list of countries to which it suggests lifting non-essential travel bans.  

Colombia and China were among the countries that made it through, as the European Council recommends travellers may arrive without a vaccination.

Colombia has witnessed 5.5 Million coronavirus-related cases and 131,000 deaths to this point. However, the virus is originating in Wuhan, China.

Australia had previously experienced relatively low Covid deaths and cases during the pandemic. However, it has now been afflicted by the disease in its worst-ever bout since December, with more than 60,000.

The European Council has removed Australia from the recommended list of countries whose unvaccinated citizens will be able to enter the EU under lifted Covid restrictions on Tuesday night (pictured, beachgoers on Bondi Beach on January 16)

Australia has been removed from the European Council’s recommended list of unvaccinated countries that will allow them to enter the EU. The Covid restrictions were lifted on Tuesday night. (Photo: Bondi Beach beachgoers, January 16).

China is on the list of places the European Council recommends lifting travel restrictions on, despite the virus originating there (pictured, testing at Xian North train station on January 17)

China has been included on the European Council list of countries where travel restrictions should be lifted, despite the possibility that it is infected with the flu virus. (Photo: Tests at Xian North train Station on January 17).

Canada reported 48,964 new infection for January 17 - earning it a place on the EU's danger list

Canada had 48,964 infections in January 2017. This earned it a spot on the EU’s dangerous list.

No longer able to travel vaxx-free in countries that are not on the EU’s list 


On January 18, 46,220 cases had been reported. The majority were located in NSW and Vic.

92.6 percent of Australia’s over-16-year-old population is currently fully vaccinated. 


Canada had 48.964 infections in January 2017.

The country has 87.78% of its population over the age 12 who are fully immunized. 


Argentine has reported 161,893 new cases of covid in the last 24 hours. 

Reuters estimates 91.7 per cent of the population is fully vaccinated.

Australia has had 1.8 Million cases of Covid since the start of the pandemic. There have been 2,750 deaths from infection.

This is 6.9 percent of Australia’s population infected, and 0.01 percent have died. 

Approximately 21 percent of France’s population have been infected since the outbreak of the pandemic, while 0.18% of those affected have already died.  

At the moment, tourists who have been fully vaccinated using approved vaccines from European Medicines Agency are able to travel anywhere in Europe.

Pfizer and AstraZeneca approved the vaccines Novavax, Moderna, Novavax and Novavax.

The recommended restrictions are not applicable to EU citizens or healthcare personnel. 

Roughly 5.5 per cent of Australia's population has been infected with Covid and 0.01 per cent have died from it

About 5.5 percent of Australia’s inhabitants have been infected by Covid, and approximately 0.01 percent of them have already died.

EU citizens and healthcare and transport personnel are exempt from the recommended tightened restrictions

EU citizens, healthcare personnel and transportation workers are exempted from the tightened restrictions

EU Council stated that the EU list will be reviewed approximately every two weeks. 

The majority of EU countries agreed to a ban on non-essential travel when the pandemic began in March 2020. This applies now to all those not vaccinated against Covid. 

The EU council has recommended that travel bans be lifted for 15 countries.

The move to remove Australia from the safe list comes after the country suffered its second worst day for Covid deaths since the start of pandemic.

After testing positive for Covid in NSW, 36 people perished in Monday’s tragedy. The 22-year-old victim was from Victoria.

While the youngest victim of the NSW tragedy was in his 40s, all other victims were older than that. has more information about travel restrictions. 

For certain countries, the EU Council has recommended lifting travel restrictions 

  • Bahrain
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • China, Subject to verification of reciprocity

The EU also recommends the lifted restrictions of Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan.